As CILT-accredited training institution in Nigeria, the Maritime Academy of Nigeria, Oron has been expanding the frontiers of professional education and training aimed at improving the transportation sector of the nation’s economy. This unique role played by MAN, Oron came to the fore once more at the 2015 Logistics and Transport Professionals’ Dinner and Award Night held last Tuesday at Sheraton Lagos Hotel, Ikeja. It was the gathering of the movers and shakers of the transport sector in Nigeria.

The Academy was rewarded with the “Best Training Provider of CILT Examinees” award for 2015, in a lively ceremony which had prominent Nigerian transport professionals in attendance. The Chairman of the event was the former Managing Director of the Nigerian Ports Authority Chief Adebayo Sarunmi. The award segment climaxed a night of terse, solution-seeking but brief addresses by transport experts.

Earlier, the out-going President of the Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport, Nigeria (CILT), Major General UT Usman (Retired) lauded members who are operating in different parts of the Country in circumstances which could be termed discouraging yet are making waves while moving the nation’s economy forward. He challenged them to raise the tempo of their transportation activities in the overall interest of Nigerians in the coming years.

In his comment, the Hon. Commissioner for Transportation in Lagos State, Dr. Ekundayo Mobereola informed of the formulation of the first inter-modal transport policy in the country by any state, noting that when it becomes fully operational, the policy will change the face of transportation in Lagos State.

Also earlier in the night, a minute’s silence was held in honour of the Rector of Maritime Academy of Nigeria, Oron, Dr. Amb. Joshua Okpo, who until his demise was a Fellow of the Institute.

The Academy’s delegation to the event was led by Dr. (Engr.) Innocent C. Ezeala who is the Director, School of Marine Engineering. Also in team were Dr. (Engr.) Anthony Anayo Ishiodu, Dr. John Adeyanju, Mr. Siddi E. Mkpandiok, Head, Public Relations, Mr. Emmanuel Essien and Mr. Abdullahi I. Kuraye.


From: Public Relations Department.